Adolf-Ulrich WERTMÜLLER. Portrait of Molly Wittfooth

Sold

WERTMÜLLER Adolf-Ulrich (Stockholm 1751 - Wilmington 1801).
« Portrait de Molly Wittfooth tenant une partition de musique » (Portrait of Molly Wittfooth Holding a Musical Score".

Canvas and stretcher of origin.
Signed, located and dated on the music score.
A. Wertmüller/Bordeaux 1789.
73 x 60 cm (28-3/4 x 23-1/2 in.) (Minor accident).

Provenance :
By direct descendent of Madame Jacques Balguerie, maiden name Molly Anne Caroline Wittfooth.

Bibliography : - M. Benisovich, Wertmüller and his house ledger entitled « Notte », in « Gazette des Beaux Arts », July-December, 1956, p. 53; G.W. Lundberg, Wertmüller, Swedish painter for Marie-Antoinette, her stay in Bordeaux 1788-1890, Bordeaux, 1970, p. 34, n' 39, repr. pl. 16.
- Adolf-Ulrich Wertmüller in Bordeaux (1788-1790) in [Expo. Bordeaux, 1989] Le port des Lumières. La peinture à Bordeaux (Port of Lights, Painting in Bordeaux) (1750-1800), pp. 335-352, , fig. 9, p. 339.

Selected from the best students of the Academy of Fine Arts in Stockholm to complete his training in Paris, Adolf Ulrich Wertmüller, arrived in France in 1772.

In 1787 he was at the service of royalty: appointed painter to the king of Sweden. He also realized the portrait of Queen Marie Antoinette and her children. The following year, he joined his cousin Joseph Alexander Roslin, son of the painter, in Bordeaux. In his ledger, La Notte de [ses] ouvrages, Wertmüller listed fifty-two portraits executed during his two-year stay in Bordeaux, from 1788 to 1790. That list does not include portraits offered to friends, etc. This reveals the impressive success of the artist whose realism conquered a clientele made up of foreigners living in Bordeaux: diplomats, emigrants, traders attracted by the city's commercial development.

This cosmopolitan place welcomed this foreigner of Protestant faith. It is not uncommon that within the same family, parents and children raised one another, so Johnston's, the Mac-Carthy's, the Skinner's, etc. and Wittfooth's. On September 29, 1789, Wertmüller finished his portrait of Jean-Charles Wittfooth, then a month later, those of his parents (cf. sold in Stockholm Bukowski, June 2, 2010, No. 237, repr.).

The portrait of Molly was completed on December 12, 1789. The work expresses the model's innocence of youth with a simplicity dear to the artist.

Provenance :

  • Items quantity:  1
  • Expertissim Reference: 2011100002

Adolf-Ulrich WERTMÜLLER. Portrait de Molly Wittfooth

Objet vendu

WERTMÜLLER Adolf-Ulrich (Stockholm 1751 - Wilmington 1801).
« Portrait de Moly Wittfooth tenant une partition de musique ».

Toile et châssis d'origine.
Signée, localisée et datée sur la partition :
A. Wertmüller/Bordeaux 1789.
73 x 60 cm (Petit accident).

Provenance :
Descendance directe de Madame Jacques Balguerie, née Molly Anne Caroline Wittfooth.

Bibliographie : - M. Benisovich, Wertmüller et son livre de raison intitulé la « Notte », in « Gazette des Beaux Arts », juillet-décembre,1956, p. 53 ; G.W. Lundberg, Wertmüller, peintre suédois de Marie-Antoinette, son séjour à Bordeaux 1788-1890, Bordeaux, 1970, p. 34, n' 39, repr. pl. 16.
- Adolf-Ulrich Wertmüller à Bordeaux (1788-1790) in [Expo. Bordeaux, 1989] Le port des Lumières. La peinture à Bordeaux (1750-1800), pp. 335-352, fig. 9 p. 339.

Choisi parmi les meilleurs élèves de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Stockholm pour compléter sa formation à celle de Paris, Adolf-Ulrich Wertmüller arrive en France en 1772.

En 1787, il se met au service des têtes couronnées : nommé peintre du roi de Suède, il réalise également le portrait de La Reine Marie Antoinette et de ses enfants. L'année suivante, il rejoint son cousin Joseph Alexandre Roslin, le fils du peintre, à Bordeaux. Dans son livre de raison, La Notte de [ses] ouvrages, Wertmüller recense cinquante-deux portraits réalisés pendant son séjour de deux ans à Bordeaux, de 1788 à 1790, liste qui ne comprend pas les portraits offerts aux amis....Cette liste impressionnante révèle le succès de l'artiste dont le réalisme a conquis une clientèle constituée d'étrangers installés à Bordeaux : diplomates, émigrés, négociants attirés par l'essor commercial de la ville.

Ce lieu cosmopolite fait bon accueil à cet étranger de confession protestante. Il n'est pas rare qu'à l'intérieur d'une même famille, parents et enfants posent les uns après les autres, ainsi les Johnston, les Mac-Carthy, les Skinner... et les Wittfooth. Le 29 septembre 1789, Wertmüller finit le portrait de Jean-Charles Wittfooth, puis un mois plus tard, ceux de ses parents (cf. vente à Stockholm, Bukowski, 2 juin 2010, n' 237, repr.).

Le portrait de Moly est terminé le 12 décembre 1789, il exprime toute la candeur de la jeunesse du modèle avec une simplicité chère à l'artiste.

Provenance :

  • Pièces :  1
  • Référence Expertissim : 2011100002